What’s new

2019 Events
Click here to see our plan for 2019 events and book now for our next event – The St David’s Day Dinner on Friday March 1st at Harewood Downs Golf Club. This year our speaker will be Tudor Wyn Owen, a notable Welshman and raconteur. Originally from the Cynon Valley, he has recently retired as a Circuit Judge in London.

Burn’s Night (25th January) saw Jonathan Pegler host another of his cryptic Quiz Evenings. Six teams of six battled it out, the only respite being the fish and chips supper. Amongst other topics, we were tested on our knowledge of old advertising slogans and the First World War. At the end of the evening, the winners were announced and questions were asked – was it a fix?

Sunday 9th December saw us in Christmas mood, with carols and nibbles at Bill & Sue Jones’s home.





On 20th September, Jonathan Pegler led a tour around the sites of Bristol. Click here to see the full report.



We were lucky with the weather for our Annual Golf Day on 31st August. Thanks to Chris Thomas and Pam Britton for organising it and to Rob Britton for the report.


On 6th August we set off for summer’s evening of horse racing at the Royal Windsor Racecourse.


Once again we were blessed with glorious weather for our Summer Lunch on 1st July – kindly hosted by Peter and Pat Chapman with a report by Bob Ford.




We have Gwyn Owen’s report on the successful and enjoyable Aberystwyth Trip on 18th to 22nd June.




Our Spring Walk & Pub Lunch took place on a gloriously sunny day. How could it have been otherwise! The members gathered outside the Swan in Ley Hill on 15th May.



We held our 2018 AGM on May 11th, with entartaining poetry recitals from Jayne Pegler, Tony and Margaret Curtis.  Here is a report of the event.



After postponing the St David’s Dinner on 1st March due to snow, we had a very pleasant evening on Friday April 13th at Harewood Downs Gold Club, with entertainment provided by Meilir Jones (baritone) and Iain Ledingham.




We’ve also added some photographs of the members of the committee, so that you can see who everyone is – click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.