CHILTERN DISTRICT WELSH SOCIETY

Minutes of the 2nd Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 22 May 2002 at the Coleshill Village Hall at 8.00 pm

Present: 24 members of the Society including the committee

- 1. APOLOGIES for absence were received from John & Thelma Lusher, Margaret and Norman Waterman, Hugh, Jess and Miles Griffiths, Betty Lay, Maldwyn Pugh, Maureen Diggins.
- 2. **MINUTES** of the previous Annual General Meeting were read by Ann Evans. These were agreed and adopted, and there were no matters arising.
- 3. THE CHAIRMAN, Denys Jones, thanked Ann Evans, who as President put so much energy into starting up the Welsh Society and keeping it going, but also took over the reins from Gay de Marco as Secretary during the year. He also thanked all the committee for their hard work during the year. The events were well attended, and the membership continues to grow.
- 4. THE TREASURER, Gills Wills issued the members with copies of the accounts. At the AGM last year Gill had advised that there was a surplus at the end of March of £35. However, by the end of May there was in fact an additional £90. The balance this year shows a surplus at the end of March of £850, but this has also increased now because of new subscriptions coming in. A profit was made from all the events during the year, and it was generally agreed that the last year was financially successful. The accounts were agreed and adopted.
- 5. ELECTION OF OFFICERS and committee members. In view of Ann's contribution to the society it was proposed that she should be Honorary Life President. This was immediately seconded and adopted. Denys Jones said that although he had been proposed to continue as Chairman, he would like to step down to allow someone younger to take over. He agreed to continue for one year only, if no-one else volunteers in the meantime to take over.

The officers and members were elected as follows:

Office	Name	Proposer	Seconder
President	Ann Evans	Denys Jones	Harry Henderson
Chairman	Denys Jones	Harry Henderson	Sally Henderson
Vice Chairman	Raiph Broomby	Colin Wills	Gill Wills
Secretary	Pam Britton	Gwyn Owen	Ann Evans
Treasurer	Gill Wills	Muriel Jones	Denys Jones
Membership Sec	Ann Lawrence	Ann Evans	Margaret Broomby
Other members	Margaret Broomby,	Voted en bloc by	
	Jean & Gwyn Owen,	members present	
	Thelma Lusher		
	Colin Wills		